Skip to content

Ritz

November 30, 2015

This Athletics Illustrated interview has some good details on Ritz’s training cycle:

DR: I don’t really train on a weekly cycle. I usually have 2-3 easy days between each workout or long run. I generally take a day off completely every 1-2 weeks or at least have one very easy day that consists of four to seven miles of easy running. I generally run 95-105 miles a week and try to supplement with a couple hours a week of cross-training. Twenty to 25% of my normal training is done on the AlterG treadmill at 85-90% of my normal weight. I usually sequence my training with one hard interval session, one longer tempo/interval session, one long run, and one shorter speed session. I believe in hard quality intervals and my long runs are generally fast but not always. The biggest periodization in my training comes during the marathon training. I have been doing this for many years now so I don’t need to put such long blocks of training as in the past. Periodized training is important but it should be adapted to the age and level of runner.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment